Book Review of “Hey Dad! Meet My Mom…” by Sandeep Sharma, Leepi Agrawal


Blurb:

From childhood, the world in which we live, teaches us to bury our ‘bad’ past somewhere deep inside us, so deep, that even we can’t dig it back and after that just move on.

What happens when a 10-year-old child, who claims to be your future son, comes to you to help you find a perfect match for his mother? What happens when eventually you start to doubt on his intentions? What happens when a girl starts to turn your dreams into nightmares? What happens when your ‘Future son’ starts to haunt you? What happens when your FUTURE starts to bleed in your PRESENT through your PAST?

‘Hey Dad! Meet My Mom!!!’ is nothing less than a roller coaster ride of comedy, fear, love and don’t forget to expect the unexpected!

My Review:

Puneet is a branch manager, single, living with mom, and therefore, the focal point for marriage discussions. Soon he meets Myra and falls in love. But whenever he gets close to her, a dream of another lady haunts him. Who is this lady? And who is this 10 year old kid who claims to be his son but who no one else can see?

“Hey Dad! Meet My Mom!!!” is a romantic paranormal story. I am saying Paranormal, not because any actual ghosts are involved, but because there are certain aspects, certain parts of the book which feels paranormal in nature. Things which I could not categorize into something known to me. The concept of memory repression to the point of deletion and soul traveling can only be part of extreme science fiction or paranormal.

But these things make the story what it is. When I started it, I thought it to be a typical romance novel. But soon into the story, I realized that the genre is completely different from what I had come to expect. Yes, it is still a romance novel, but the context is completely different. The relationships, the circumstances are completely different.

It took me some time to understand what was happening, because it was totally unexpected. The title of the novel and the blurb gives you an idea of time travel. But the story is nothing like it. Only the last statement of the blurb gives the true picture – “Expect the unexpected”. The story is completely unexpected.

“Hey Dad! Meet My Mom!!! is a book everyone should try, regardless of the reader being Indian or not. Ignore the Indian parts of it if you can’t understand but the crux will definitely be something you have never come across before. Truly surprise guaranteed.

Check out the book at

Check out my Review Request Form and Review Policy

Leave a comment

Up ↑